Professor Directory

Name Title Phone & Office Email Address Degree Area of Study
Casey, Marcus Assistant Professor  (312)413-2100
720 UH 
mcasey@uic.edu Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2009 Urban Economics, Public Economics, Labor Economics
Chaloupka IV, Frank J.  Distinguished Professor  (312)413-2367
709 UH 
fjc@uic.edu  Ph.D., City University of New York, 1988 Health Economics, Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics
Feigenberg, Ben
Assistant Professor  (312)996-0970
706 UH
bfeigenb@uic.edu  Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2014

Development Economics, Labor Economics
Hembre, Erik Assistant Professor
(312)996-2266
702 UH
ehembre@uic.edu
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2014

Public Economics, Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics
Kaestner, Robert  Professor    kaestner@uic.edu  Ph.D., City University of New York, 1988  Health Economics, Labor Economics, Social Policy,
Karras, George  Professor  (312)996-2321
714 UH 
gkarras@uic.edu Ph.D., Ohio State University, 1990 Macroeconomics, International Economics, Econometrics
Lehrer, Evelyn  Professor  (312)413-2363
710 UH 
elehrer@uic.edu  Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1978 Economic Demography, Economics of Religion
Lubotsky, Darren  Associate Professor  (312)996-6240
724 UH 
lubotsky@uic.edu  Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2000 Labor Economics, Health Economics
Officer, Lawrence H.  Professor  (312)413-9342
704 UH 
lofficer@uic.edu  Ph.D., Harvard University, 1965 Economic History, International Economics
Ost, Ben  Assistant Professor  (312)996-3913
718 UH 
bost@uic.edu Ph.D., Cornell University, 2011 Labor Economics, Economics of Education
Peck, Richard M.  Associate Professor  (312)413-2365 
726 UH
rmpeck@uic.edu  Ph.D., Princeton University, 1983 Microeconomics, Public Finance, Industrial Organization
Persky, Joseph J.  Professor  (312)996-2687
711 UH 
jpersky@uic.edu  Ph.D., Harvard University, 1971 Urban and Regional Economics, History of Economic Thought
Pieper, Paul, J.  Associate Professor  (312)996-8721
713 UH 
pjpieper@uic.edu  Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1984 Applied Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Economics of Education
Qureshi, Javaeria  Assistant Professor  (312) 355-3216
716 UH 
javaeria@uic.edu  Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2012 Labor Economics, Applied Econometrics, Development Economics
Rivkin, Steven  Professor; Head of Department  (312)413-2366
729 UH 
sgrivkin@uic.edu  Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1991 Education, Labor, Public, Applied Econometrics
Roberts, Helen  Clinical Professor  (312)355-0378
721 UH
hroberts@uic.edu Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1995 Economic Education, Industrial Organization, International Trade, Econometrics
Stokes, Houston H.  Professor (312)996-0971
722 UH 
hhstokes@uic.edu  Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1969 Applied Econometrics, Macroeconomics, Software
Tauras, John A.  Associate Professor  (312)413-3289
707 UH 
tauras@uic.edu  Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, 1998 Health Economics

Emeritus and Affiliated Faculty

Name Title Phone & Office Email Address Degree Area of Study
Akarca, Ali T. Clinical Professor N/A
akarca@uic.edu M.S., University of Wisconsin at Madison, 1972 Macroeconomics, Time Series Analysis and Forecasting, Economy and Politics of Turkey
Ayal, Eliezer B. Professor Emeritus N/A
eayal@uic.edu Ph.D., Cornell University, 1961 Economic Development, Urbanization
Bassett Jr., Gilbert W. Professor of Finance N/A

gib@uic.edu Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1973 Statistics, Financial Markets, Energy Economics
Chirinko, Robert S. Professor of Finance (312)355-1262

chirinko@uic.edu Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1982 Capital Formation, Corporate Finance and Governance, Tax Policy, Macroeconomics
Chiswick, Barry R. Professor Emeritus N/A

brchis@uic.edu Ph.D., Columbia University, 1967 Labor Economics, Human Resources, Microeconomics
Chiswick, Carmel U. Professor Emeritus N/A
cchis@uic.edu Ph. D., Columbia University, 1972 Economic Development, Labor Economics, Economics of Religion
Grampp, William D. Professor Emeritus N/A
N/A Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1944 History of Economic Thought, Economics of the Arts
Kosobud, Richard F. Professor Emeritus N/A
kosobud@uic.edu Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1963 Energy and Environmental Economics, Macroeconomics
Lee, Jin Man Adjunct Assistant Professor (312)413-9444
705 UH
jmlee@uic.edu Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, 2001 Applied Econometrics, Time Series Analysis, Internet Economics
LoSasso, Anthony T. Adjunct Assistant Professor (312)996-1386
Rice Building 525
losasso@uic.edu
Ph.D., Indiana University in Bloomington, 1996 Health Economics, Labor Economics
McCloskey, Deirdre
Professor Emeritus N/A
deirdre2@uic.edu
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1970  Economic History, History of Economic Thought
McDonald, John Professor Emeritus N/A
mcdonald@uic.edu Ph.D., Yale University, 1971 Urban Economics, Real Estate Economics
Merriman, David F. Professor (312)996-1381
7525 Rice Building
dmerrim@uic.edu Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1983 State and Local Public Finance, Urban and Regional Economics
Miller, Oscar Professor Emeritus N/A
omiller@uic.edu M.A., University of Chicago, 1948 Economic Education
Powell, Lisa M.
Research Professor
(312)413-8468
1747 W. Roosevelt
powelll@uic.edu 
Ph.D., Queens University, 1995  Health Economics 
Rosen, George Professor Emeritus N/A
grosen@uic.edu Ph.D., Princeton University, 1949 Economic Development of India & China
Stanford, William G. Associate Professor Emeritus N/A
wgstan@uic.edu Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1984 Game Theory, Mathematical Economics
Tam, Mo-Yin
Professor Emeritus  N/A
moyintam@uic.edu  Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1974  Managerial Economics, Comparative Economic Systems
Walton, Surrey M. Associate Professor of Pharmacy Admin (312)413-2775
264 PHARM
walton@uic.edu Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1997 Pharmacoeconomics, Health Economics