Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Department Spotlight

Graduate and Undergraduate Student Award Winners for 2021 Heading link

On behalf of the Department of Economics, we want to recognize the achievements of several of our most outstanding graduate and undergraduate students in the program. We are impressed by what you have accomplished in the classroom, in the UIC Community, and beyond, especially in the face of the challenging circumstances presented by the COVID – 19 pandemic.




Darren Lubotsky, Director of Graduate Studies

Marcus Casey, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Steven Rivkin, Department Head




Graduate Student Awards


James Doti Award – Outstanding Research Accomplishments

 Katherine McElroy


Winifred Geldard Memorial Award – Outstanding Third Year Paper

Meiqing Ren


Sylvia L. Saffrin Memorial Award – Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Miguel Andueza Purgimon


 Mitch Krask Award – Outstanding Performance in First and Second year coursework

Ann James and Mosaddek Hossain



Undergraduate Student Awards


For Outstanding Academic Achievement:


James Doti Award

Monay Zayed


Winifred Geldard Memorial Award

Hal Stadtwaldt & Rachel Berkey


Silvia Saffrin Memorial Award

Taylor Lenburg


Bassett, Chiswick, Kosobud, and Stokes Award

Dana Malo


Pitis – Diaz Memorial Award

Noor Al-Sheikh


Dr. Michele M. Thompson and Dr. H. Woods Bowman Scholarship

Karen John, Nominee


For Outstanding Service and Leadership:


Ronald Moses Memorial Award

Jocelyn Bravo